Celebrate: The Soundtrack of My Life

The world is big.

New stuff gets added to it every day.

Books. Music. Art. Movies. TV shows. Games. Websites. Apps.

Cute animal videos.

There is no way there would ever be enough hours in a lifetime to sift through it all and find what I want to experience, let alone what I’d want to buy/read/listen to/see/play/surf/use on a random Saturday afternoon.

 

While I appreciate the curators of the world – librarians, bloggers and reviewers of all sorts – I find myself watching for what my friends and students are recommending.

And recommendations have made up most of the soundtrack of my life lately.

The past two weeks I have been playing the soundtrack to Hamilton nonstop because I have seen it mentioned at least 15 times a day in my Facebook and Twitter feeds.

Earlier in the school year, a student told me I had to check out the song “Here” because she thought I’d appreciate it. (She wasn’t wrong. Not only do I like it, but it inspired what I started for NaNoWriMo.) That seems to be getting a pretty heavy rotation on my player these days.

My friend and musical co-director Elaine introduced me to the Waitress soundtrack.

As much as I love the music from Mary Poppins (our musical for this year), it’s nice to have a break from spelling “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious” or belting out “Anything Can Happen.”

I’m still playing the new (and old) Star Wars soundtracks – and have been ever since we went to see the movie last month.

I can’t imagine a world without music. And I honestly wouldn’t want to.

What tunes are getting heavy rotation on your players? I’m always looking for new recommendations!

This post is part of a group of posts from teachers around the country who are celebrating our weeks by sharing them in these posts. Click on the image above to see what others are celebrating this week.

This post is part of a group of posts from teachers around the country who are celebrating our weeks by sharing them in these posts. Click on the image above to see what others are celebrating this week.

One thought on “Celebrate: The Soundtrack of My Life

Leave a Reply

