Celebrate: Snow Day

I know it’s Saturday.

I know that it’s snowed and is snowing enough (in my opinion) for an entire winter…in one day.

I know I had things planned that I wanted/needed to do today…and that none of that really involved pushing snow off the deck or helping clean off the cars or documenting the snow plow getting stuck on our road.

But there is an excitement – probably that goes all the way back to when I was a kid, waiting patiently to hear my school named on the radio, to know that I would get a little extra time or even a full day at home.

It feels like a gift – to have your day frozen in time and disrupted from the normal routines of daily life. Found time to do something fun or unexpected.

Even as an adult, in some ways, I feel that.

But today is a Saturday – a day that was already considered to be “my own” and a weekly break from routine.

So I didn’t really get anything extra, but that didn’t mean that today’s Snow Day didn’t feel like a Snow Day around here. There was extra coffee and hot chocolate for the kid. We may have hung around in our jammies longer than normal. No one felt rushed. We ran on the schedule of when things needed to get shoveled again and didn’t do a whole lot of moving when we weren’t shoveling. We laughed about the dog’s shenanigans in the snow over dinner. We rolled our eyes when the boy said he left the plastic yard stick out in the yard. (Typical…)

We called our folks to make sure everything was okay and checked to see what everyone else had to say about the weather where they were. (My cousin who is a bit farther north got nothing of this storm. She was a bit disappointed. I wish I could send her a foot or so of snow…we have plenty to spare!)

Since this winter has been pretty easy on us until today – with this being the first real storm we’ve had all winter – we haven’t had many days like this, directed by forces greater than us.

It’s probably a good reminder to get to slow down from the normal rat race.

 

This post is part of a group of posts from teachers around the country who are celebrating our weeks by sharing them in these posts. Click on the image above to see what others are celebrating this week.

This post is part of a group of posts from teachers around the country who are celebrating our weeks by sharing them in these posts. Click on the image above to see what others are celebrating this week.

7 thoughts on “Celebrate: Snow Day

    • It’s been a doozy. Spent more time outside today already than I did all day yesterday trying to dig my mom’s car out while Jason was working to clear her amazingly long driveway. We’re taking a break for lunch. :)

  1. Enjoy a real snow day! And extra time since you worked so hard the last two days. I like your comment that it snowed enough for an entire winter in one day!

  2. This storm did make Long Island screech to a halt, Cindy. While the storm raged everything seemed so cozy but when it was over – wow it was a shocker what had to be done. Days later and we are still shoveling…

Leave a Reply

