Celebrate: Relaxing with a Cup of Coffee and a Purring Cat

I’ll admit, my standards for happiness are pretty low sometimes.

But this morning, I have been looking at my to-do list that has been sitting here all of break and I’m realizing that I’m now back to a “normal weekend” only amount of time to do it in and I’m refusing to be stressed out about it.

I could be, but what’s the point.

I’ll roll up my sleeves and get to work in a little bit.

I’m instead choosing to enjoy this first cup of coffee and the sound of a kitty purring behind my computer.

My mind wanders back over the week.

Lounging with my son, reading to him and with him.

A shopping expedition with my husband, son, and mom – and a splurge of a lunch at Red Lobster.

A date (!) with my husband to spend his Christmas gift from me – which ended up with us jabbering on at a diner before calling it a night.

Writing thank you notes and thinking about all the kindnesses that have been shown to my family in the past month.

A long conversation with my son about what really, really missing someone looks like – that it doesn’t always look like tears, but that the pain doesn’t go away just because we’re not crying, and that that’s okay.

Finding my reading mojo again – as I have now sailed through Dumplin’All American BoysSunny Side Up, Two Friends: Susan B. Anthony and Frederick Douglass and I’m back to having multiple books going at a time: Slaughterhouse Five, The Seventh Most Important Thing, Echo, Star Wars: Before the Awakening, Fun Home.

Cleaning out files from our study and digging through stuff that has just been shoved in boxes for far too long. (That was a walk down memory lane in so many ways…so much of it needed to be thrown away, some of it scanned to save as memories, and other things…well, I am a bit of a pack rat so some of it stayed.)

Making cookies and Kroppkakor with Mom and Jason – an exercise in cooperation, problem solving, note taking, and memories.

Spending some time writing and rewriting and revising my writing.

I did get some school work done. I did do some planning and thinking about what is going on next week when we get back to school. I did cross some of what I wanted to do off the list, but it’s the stuff that I hadn’t necessarily planned, the time I spent with my family, the time I spent doing what I love, that will write itself on my heart and in my memories.

The stuff that has to get done will get done.

I need to remember to do those things that create memories that last every day, too.

Even if it’s just enjoying a cup of coffee with a purring cat as a companion.

 

This post is part of a group of posts from teachers around the country who are celebrating our weeks by sharing them in these posts. Click on the image above to see what others are celebrating this week.

This post is part of a group of posts from teachers around the country who are celebrating our weeks by sharing them in these posts. Click on the image above to see what others are celebrating this week.

 

17 thoughts on “Celebrate: Relaxing with a Cup of Coffee and a Purring Cat

  1. I was thinking about getting back to that “normal weekend” today too. The Christmas boxes were packed up yesterday and today is back to school mode for me. But I also took some time out to write and read blog posts firsts. It helped that my son beat me to the shower because it gave me a little more time! :) Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    • I don’t know if I am ready for “normal weekend” already, but it’s here. I’ll enjoy it for what time I have left before school and everything else starts up at full speed ahead.

  2. Even thought I’m retired and don’t have a class anymore, I have some reading to do before a meeting with a teacher I’m mentoring, so this weekend will be a putting away and a planning for what’s next. I love the idea of one more cup of coffee and the purring cat, one more quiet moment. Happy New Year!

  3. I know what you mean about being down to a normal weekend and trying not to be stressed! Yikes. We just returned from a trip, so I’m trying to eek out some relaxing time today, and then will be planning for the week tomorrow. Not sure I’m ready for that! Ha.

    • Kroppkakor is a Swedish dish my great grandmother used to make for us. They are big fat dumplings – the outside made with mashed potatoes and the inside with onions and salted pork. Then you bake them in TONS of butter. I think I put a link to a recipe close to ours on the word in my post if you want to see a picture!

  4. Simple pleasures–I love that. The opportunity to sit and enjoy a cup of coffee with a purring cat is a weekend/break thing, and I love that you relish in that. I think tomorrow I may have to try to get my cat to stay still long enough to have coffee with me. :-)

  5. I love that you chose to have your cup of coffee and relax. It seems like we too often do not take those chances to slow down. You are right, what needs doing will get done, but it is nice to slow down and savor time off as well. It sounds like you had a nice break.

Leave a Reply

