A Last Day Looking Forward to a First Day

It was the “last day” of summer vacation today.

(I have inservice days for the next two days and I’m off again on Friday, but that Friday never feels like a day off. I’m a bundle of nervous, nesting energy hoping to get everything finished before the weekend.)

I had a zillion things I wanted to do, but mostly I cleaned at a leisurely pace and listened to music with my son. I did some laundry. I downloaded some books. I read a bit more of the one I’m currently enjoying. I sent some email and scribbled in my notebook. I replied to some comments on my class blog posts and wrote some more there. I loaded up a couple of Nerdy Book Club posts. I threw out some stuff from my desk. We had dinner together and watched an episode of Gravity Falls. I wore my new sneakers.

It was a low-key day.

It was just what I needed – and wanted.

Sure, we could have raced around trying to hold onto the final hours of my summer vacation and tried to do a zillion things. (I still have that ticket for Hersheypark that needs using…)

I could have gone to school today and worked on all of the organizing and copying and cleaning up my desk. The truth is that those things will keep for tomorrow and I’ll really be better off holding onto the energy I managed to save by staying home today.

(Like tomorrow morning…when I attempt to go to the gym first thing.*)

The truth is, I’m ready for summer vacation to end. I have enjoyed the time to travel and read and spend time with my family. But I’m ready to meet my new students on Monday. I’m ready to get back to the routine of daily life around here and at school.

Spending today at home was just the first step towards that routine.

 

Please click on the image to go to the Two Writing Teachers blog to see what others have written for their Slice of Life Challenge posts.

Please click on the image to go to the Two Writing Teachers blog to see what others have written for their Slice of Life Challenge posts.

*More about me and my new-school-year-resolutions in another post.**

**And, yes, more posts are another of my new-school-year-resolutions.

2 thoughts on “A Last Day Looking Forward to a First Day

Leave a Reply

