Getting Back on Track

It’s Monday and I like the idea that today marks a new beginning.

Actually, I love this aspect of teaching in general – new students, new years, new marking periods, new groups, new units, new notebooks, new pencils, new ideas…

With new things comes enthusiasm and excitement and energy.

And today felt a whole lot more than just the beginning of a new week.

Since this weekend marked the end of hours and hours of rehearsals, I feel like I have a whole new time schedule filled with possibilities.

And that enthusiasm and excitement and energy is starting to tear through my to-do list.

(Watch out, world!)

This evening I took a break from doing work-related to-dos and took the senior kitty to the vet. The poor old girl lost about 20% of her body weight since she was last to the vet in October. She is dehydrated and her teeth are either missing or ground down to nubs — but otherwise she appears to be okay. So we brought home a prescription for prednisone and some gravy-covered soft food in the hopes that she gets her appetite and thirst back before she ends up with further problems.

If the prescription works like last time, she ended up with some extra enthusiasm, excitement, and energy — evidenced by a positively kittenish bounce in her step.

If the way she consumed her dinner is any indication, I think we’re heading in the right direction; it was gone in record time.

I’m hoping for new beginnings for her just the same as I have been feeling today.

7 thoughts on “Getting Back on Track

  1. Oh our aging pets. I have been in your shoes before. My current pets are not too old.But, I have been in your shoes on more than one occasion in the past. Thank you for writing so poignantly about your kitty. I’m glad you and she are getting back on track.

  2. Yes to newness! I am getting excited about starting our next reading and writing unit next week. In spite of the anxiety about how to make it better than last year and with the new challenges brought in by new students with lots of diverse needs, I do a lot of thinking and that IS good! Glad to hear that your old friend ate tonight and feels better!

  3. Like you, I love new beginnings. You said it perfectly, “marks a new beginning. Actually, I love this aspect of teaching in general – new students, new years, new marking periods, new groups, new units, new notebooks, new pencils, new ideas…”

    It is always nice to finish one thing, and then have time for another. I’m glad your cat has been to the vet and is on the way to recovery.

    Cathy

Leave a Reply

