Breaking the Chain

It was bound to happen sooner or later.

FB_IMG_1420625930129

Despite my best efforts at making reasonable goals, I already broke the chain and did none of them yesterday. No exercise (unless you count running across the stage, giggling as a stand-in postulant at our Sound of Music rehearsal last night, but I don’t know that back and forth twice counts), no writing, no planning, no cleaning.

What was that? I just made these goals within the last week and I already blew it?

I guess that’s one way to look at it.

Except I’d rather just accept that I’m human and will mess up from time to time. I’d rather just start over the next day and try again.

So I started over again today. Up of my own accord, before my alarm, and ready to get out of bed after enjoying snuggles with two purring cats and a snoring dog, I got on my sneakers and hit the treadmill. I did exactly 15 minutes this time (just starting a new book – I’m sure I’ll log some extra time later as I get farther into it), but that’s fine. I sat down with my planner and jotted down what I need to get done today.

And now I’m writing.

The vacuum cleaner needs to get run, but something says that 5:30 in the morning isn’t the time around here (everyone else is still asleep), so I’ll leave that for later.

I will say that I did do one big thing yesterday that I’m proud of – I chopped and prepped a whole bunch of salad stuff that I had bought on Sunday (to make these salads) and just hadn’t found the time/energy to prep until last night while dinner was in the oven. I’m looking forward to having it for lunches over the rest of the week and the weekend. That and some yogurt will make for a nice, quick lunch before I head down the hall to donate blood today at our school’s blood drive.

So as I look at that calendar again, I don’t see failure. I see the opportunity to get up every day and make a decision no matter what my choices were yesterday.

And today will be what I choose to make it.

One thought on “Breaking the Chain

Leave a Reply

