My Kind of Day

This post is part of a group of posts from teachers around the country who are celebrating our weeks by sharing them in these posts. Click on the image above to see what others are celebrating this week.

This post is part of a group of posts from teachers around the country who are celebrating our weeks by sharing them in these posts. Click on the image above to see what others are celebrating this week.

The calendar has flipped over to November and, yet again, I forgot to say “rabbit, rabbit” when I got up at 1:30 am after hours of long-overdue sleep.

I don’t know that I will need so much luck though if today is any kind of predictor for the rest of the month.

I did get up at 1:30 feeling surprisingly rested. That might have been because I think I fell asleep at my desk after school yesterday. I just put my head in my hands around 3:30 and when I looked up, the room was dark, it was getting dark outside, and my eyes were all gummy. But that hour or so of rest didn’t quite charge me enough to do more than get home. I slept on the way to dinner with my parents. I slept on the way home. And then I crawled into bed at 8 pm without even changing out of my clothes and slept until I woke up at 1:30.

This sounds like it could be a major problem, to find oneself wide awake in the middle of the night.

I saw it as a golden opportunity to finish the book I had started earlier in the week. Peace and quiet is difficult to find these days now that we have a puppy who lives in our midst. So I took advantage of the situation and curled up in a blanket on the princess chair and finished reading Backlash by Sarah Darer Littman. (I cannot wait to share more about this book – but it’ll wait for a while…it doesn’t come out until March.)

I did end up having some hurried bits of writing to do (I just need a firm deadline and a good scare to get me writing some days) early in the morning, but I did get another hour or so of good sleep in there as well.

My morning was dedicated to spending time learning with the other mentors and cohort of new fellows at the Capital Area Writing Project (my NWP site). We shared the artifacts that represented our literacy lives. (I couldn’t help but smile to see that I influenced at least one of the artifacts shared — by helping Bob sign up to start blogging a couple of years ago!) I got to catch up with friends there and learn through a couple of presentations — and then I had to leave quickly to get to the next part of my day!

I met up with my guys in Lititz at Linden Hall for the Lititz Kid Lit Festival. We went last year and truly enjoyed ourselves so we couldn’t wait to see who was coming this year. They had a rock star list of authors who were there this year. Jr Librarian and his dad were there for the full day and they were both curled up reading their books when I brought them lunch – too engrossed to catch me up on what I had missed. I got to listen to A.S. King and David Levithan talk about YA lit and then followed it up with a panel on graphic novels with Eric Wight, Jenni Holm, Matt Phelan, and Cece Bell. WOW! The day wrapped up with a presentation by Tom Angleberger – I wish I had recorded the sound of the kids cheering and shouting just as a general pick-me-up. We, of course, got books signed. Jr Librarian had his photo taken (by his dad) with Babymouse and Jedi knights.

As we drove home, we saw the most lovely sunset I can remember for ages. Pinks and purples and grays filled the sky. I thought about pulling over to take a picture, but instead decided to live in the moment and just enjoy the view.

I did a lot of that today. Just enjoy the view. Just appreciate the quiet. Just worry about the here and now. It was nice to let go of the eternally rolling to-do list for one day and just enjoy what I had planned.

5 thoughts on “My Kind of Day

  1. I had no idea this festival was in Lititiz yesterday! I live in York County…is there anywhere I can sign up so I don’t miss next year’s festival?

Leave a Reply

