A Slice of Energy

Please click on the image to go to the Two Writing Teachers blog to see what others have written for their Slice of Life Challenge posts.

Please click on the image to go to the Two Writing Teachers blog to see what others have written for their Slice of Life Challenge posts.

Some days I wake up and feel ready to go.

Today was not one of those days.

I got up at 4 like normal and made sure the Nerdy post was ready to run. I checked my email and replied to a few messages.

I thought about what I would write for this post.

Ordinarily I would think about what I needed to do at school, but that wasn’t a concern today as we didn’t have school.

Brrrr...

Brrrr…

I instead thought about the big list of things I wanted to accomplish today. I had a list started when I apparently curled up under the blanket and fell asleep instead of doing things.

That nap might have given me just the jolt of energy I needed to make some progress around here. I fired up StayFocusd on my new laptop and turned on Songza and got to work. I admit that I took a bit of a break to paint my nails (overdue) and to make a half pot of coffee to enjoy, but I made steady progress.

IMG_20140107_215243

There is something to the idea that once you get going, that momentum carries. When I took another break, I badgered my son (the same one who wanted to clean my grandmother’s toy closet) to clean up his room. Then I looked around at my stuff: laundry baskets in the hallway and bathroom, stacks of stuff on my desk, piles of things collected on the kitchen peninsula (you can’t call it an island if it’s connected at one end). So I started picking things up.

Long after the the sun has set and the boy has been sent to bed, I realize that I have moved some mountains. I cleaned out and organized my dresser drawers that have been jammed full in no apparent order. I put my summer and fall clothes away – and also the winter stuff that doesn’t fit right now with a note to find it new homes if it doesn’t fit when it gets cool next year. I cleaned out my closet. I did some laundry. I washed the dishes. (Okay…I bribed myself with a little Netflix while I did the dishes…) I even cleaned out the desk that is my bedside table.

But just like with learning, the more things you do, the more you see you haven’t done.

YET.

Tomorrow is another day. :)

cindy

6 thoughts on “A Slice of Energy

  1. I love that you made time, Cindy, to put a fresh coat of paint on your nails. You time! And then the day starts to cook! Organizing “stuff” is so liberating!
    Happy New Year,
    Bonnie

  2. Oh please! My to do list is ridiculously long. So, like you said, the more things you do, the more you see you haven’t done.

    Great job polishing your nails. I haven’t done mine in so long since I usually end up getting more skin than nail!

Leave a Reply

