Typing and Treading: No Excuses

After a long time of letting my treadmill collect dust, I decided to give it some new life.

I have been watching people post about treadmill desks for a long time and wondered if I could do that. I have had a shelf over the treadmill for a long time so I could watch movies or tv shows – I’ve been bribing myself to work out with entertainment since before my son was born 8 years ago. But it’s up too high to do anything else besides watch my Facebook or Twitter feeds scroll past. It really hadn’t occurred to me before yesterday to try to create a basic treadmill desk for myself.

I already had the shelf to hold my computer.

I already had the usb keyboard to plug into it.

And a wireless mouse.

I just needed my husband to cut a board and find four clamps to hold it to the arms.

And less than 24 hours later, I am typing at my computer while walking a wild and crazy 2 mph. I can already feel that some adjustments will need to be made (my fingers on my left hand are not happy about something – they ache), but I’ve already logged 3/4 of a mile more than I would have otherwise.

Bc5irpYIAAAN9ef

And I have written something.

Sometimes what we need to make changes is right under our noses – it’s just about putting everything in the right place and in the right way.

We head back to school tomorrow and I’m starting to think about our classroom resources in a different way. What can I use in my room to do some of the things I have been putting off because I didn’t have this or that?

2014 is going to be a year of No Excuses.

2 thoughts on “Typing and Treading: No Excuses

Leave a Reply

