A Slice of Sunshine

Last week I saw something that made me smile: I saw that Tammy Mulligan nominated me for a Sunshine Award. (Thank you, Tammy!!!) This award is a pay-it-forward to from one blogger to eleven bloggers they admire to help encourage others to check out their sites. Those eleven bloggers each in turn send love and sunshine on to eleven new bloggers apiece (not including the one who nominated them).

Take a second to think about how HUGE this can get really fast. One blogger times eleven…times eleven…times eleven…times eleven… Yep. That’s some big numbers. Except I think that people keep getting nominated over and over and over again because while you don’t want to nominate the same people who were on your list, you probably will be nominating people who have been nominated before.

So here’s me following all of the rules of the Sunshine Award process except the last one (which I’ll tweak): Eleven Random Facts About Me

  1. I’m a preacher’s kid. That means different things to different people (stereotypes) so I’ll clarify: it means that I had a few hundred extra sets of parental figures ready to set me straight.
  2. I have always wanted to be a runner…except I hate running. Walking, though, I enjoy.
  3. I married my junior and senior prom dateI suspect that the number of women who can say that in my generation is far lower than that of my grandmother’s or great-grandmother’s.
  4. I have been to eleven proms with Jason since our first one in 1993. This is one of the perks of being a high school teacher. You get to go to prom. I can say that I have had far more fun (with far less expense) at the last nine.
  5. I’m a certified pharmacy technician. I have had and maintained this certification for the last decade – even though I haven’t worked as a technician for nearly eight years. I enjoyed the work I did in the hospital pharmacy and could see going back and doing it again some day in the future.
  6. I loved having pet rats. They were probably the smartest and most affectionate pets I have ever had. They wanted to be held and wanted to play and were so happy to see you. It’s just unfortunate that our two did not live for very long. Perhaps one day we’ll adopt a couple more.
  7. Our house is full of pets. We have a dog, three cats, and a goldfish currently. The dog spends his days watching The History Channel. The youngest cat shows up every night for bedtime stories. The middle cat is my writing companion. And the oldest cat lets us know when our son is nearby – she still hisses at him every chance she gets. You have no idea how handy that information can be.
  8. I have a thing for self-help books. I’m not sure if it’s the psychology major still talking or if I’m just hoping to find some better way to do things, but I find these books interesting. Most of the time I’m reading books about time management or getting organized – which means the information can get shared with my students as well. I’m currently reading 168 Hours by Laura Vanderkam.
  9. I still haven’t wrapped those last few Christmas presents. Even though my husband and son keep reminding me to do it.
  10. I know how to play the piano…but I don’t really play. I listen to my son play and I toy with attempting to play a duet with him, but that hasn’t happened yet. My parents were kind enough to give me lessons, but they never could make me want to play for anyone other than myself.
  11. I’m already planning for the next round of #nerdlution. Is that weird? I lightened up on my goal – do at least one big thing that has to get done each day & do at least one thing for myself each day. I’m doing okay with that. I’m seriously looking at one goal for next time: keeping organized.

Here are the eleven questions that Tammy left for me to answer:

  1. What are you reading right now? 168 Hours, Allegiant, We Were Liars
  2. What is one special tradition that you have with your family? This is kind of silly, but my son and I have brinner (breakfast for dinner) whenever my husband can’t be home to eat with us.
  3. Why did you decide to settle in the town you are living in now? We settled here because my parents are nearby. When we first settled in Millersburg, my husband’s parents were closer, but they are still close enough to see regularly. Seeing how much both sets of grandparents get to interact with my son, I’m glad we did.
  4. If you weren’t in education, what would you be doing? Wow. Probably working in a hospital pharmacy. Or in a library or a bookstore. Or making websites. Or maybe as an editor. And definitely writing.
  5. What do you like to do in your free time? I love to read and write. I’m currently hooked on getting caught up on Big Bang Theory and How I Met Your Mother. And Elementary. Three regular shows is about all I can handle watching. And I love to make a furious mess while reorganizing my stuff. 
  6. What do you enjoy most about the winter? My fireplace.
  7. Why blogging? To be honest? I like the challenge of trying to get the posts to look the way I want and I love the comments I get on what gets written. I love knowing that what I’ve written didn’t just go out  into the great vacuum of cyberspace.
  8. How do you find time to write? I make it a priority. And I don’t sleep much.
  9. How do you revise your writing? I move things around on the computer screen. If it’s just in my notebook, I cross things out and draw arrows. 
  10. Where do you love to vacation? Anywhere that I can relax with a book. For the last couple of years, we visited the Eastern Shore of Virginia. We also spend time at our church camp Hartman Center. Every summer we make at least one trip to one of the state parks in Pennsylvania to camp and canoe. 
  11. What should I have asked you? Do you know who won the 2013 Nerdy Book Club Awards yet? Annnnd the answer to that question is no. I am choosing to be surprised. I will get to see the posts with the winners before the go live, but I kind of like knowing that I’m in suspense along with everyone else. :) 

I’m going to wimp out on the nominations and instead thank people for writing their blogs. I learn so much from you all about writing, about teaching, about life.

  1. Donalyn MillerI know it feels silly to say that I’m so excited that you are blogging when you’ve been blogging for years. This space is your own though and I love to see your thoughts and observations – and the freedom to write whenever and about whatever you want.
  2. Teri Lesesne. Your posts routinely make me say – and comment – AMEN. I appreciate the way you respond to the various bits of inspiration that cross your path and tell it like it is.
  3. Colby Sharp. Your enthusiasm for reading and for life is absolutely infectious.
  4. Katherine Sokolowski. I remember you saying that you wanted to start a blog. Now I can hardly remember what life was like without knowing what was going on in your classroom and in your teaching life. The world is a better place for having it.
  5. Chris Lehman. Your voice and perspective when I open one of your posts. And you make me laugh. Bonus points for that. :)
  6. Paul W. Hankins. You don’t post a lot. But when you do, I walk away wishing I could write better. And then I try to do better. Does that make sense?
  7. Gary Anderson. What’s Not Wrong is honestly the best blog name for a teacher’s blog ever. I’m glad you got it because you celebrate and point out and reflect on so many things that are great about teaching and being a learner and reader and writer…
  8. Nerdy Book Club. This is not advertising. I sincerely am grateful for the people who write here. I learn so much from what you share.
  9. Ruth Ayres. I love how you focus on the joy we experience in life – and encourage us to celebrate our own lives and what happens in our classrooms.
  10. Sarah Anderson. I have followed your blog for years – even before we met – because you had great book reviews that I could share with my students. The same is true now. Thank you for this site.
  11. The Slice of Life community. You all are so wonderful the way you leave these motivating comments on each others’ blogs. I felt so welcomed into the group – and so encouraged – when I started blogging with you. Go see who is involved and what they post and join in with your own posts!
Please click on the image to go to the Two Writing Teachers blog to see what others have written for their Slice of Life Challenge posts.

Please click on the image to go to the Two Writing Teachers blog to see what others have written for their Slice of Life Challenge posts.

5 thoughts on “A Slice of Sunshine

  1. I think those random things are worth celebrating. They say what matters to you. Loves, pets, family, dreams and goals. It is fun reading and connecting to your randomness. Thanks for sharing.

  2. You had us at brinner! One day when our girls were 3 and 5 Daddy announced he wouldn’t be home for dinner and daddy’s little girls cheered! Daddy was SHOCKED and a bit sad. Then I explained brinner~ Brinner started as a way to ease the disappointment of daddy not being home for dinner and… I guess it worked! The girls are 20 and 16 now, but if the oldest is home from college and daddy isn’t home for dinner, BRINNER lives on!
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

