Giving Thanks

I feel lucky, blessed, and loved every day.

I do my best to recognize those blessings and give thanks every day.

Just the same, I knew I’m more in tune to this spirit in November because of all the extra celebrations that happen then. Birthdays celebrations. NCTE and ALAN reunions and meet ups. Returning home to my family and my classes. Thanksgiving.

Celebrations are about sharing time and space and conversation with others. They are about recognizing the opportunities we’ve been given and the possibilities that have become realities. They are about reflecting on where we’ve been and where we want to go next.

Celebrations always have been and always will be about the stuff that matters most: the relationships and communities that help us grow as friends, parents, sons and daughters, students, readers, writers, citizens, and human beings.

Thank you to all of you who have helped me grow this year. I look forward to what the next 365 days will bring.

Leave a Reply

