Revamping My One Little Word: Slice of Life

Please click on the image to go to the Two Writing Teachers blog to see what others have written for their Slice of Life Challenge posts.

Please click on the image to go to the Two Writing Teachers blog to see what others have written for their Slice of Life posts.

January is when everyone else is busy re-evaluating their lives and trying to make positive changes, but my real New Year is now as I look at the hours ticking until my tenth full year of teaching commences.

When we came up with our One Little Word in January, I picked the word MOVE…while resisting the word that all signs pointed to (HABIT).

I have moved since January. Piles of stuff from one place to another. All my files from my ailing laptop to an external hard drive. Three pets (two ancient goldfish and my poor guinea pig) who have left us to our little pet cemetery in our yard.

What I have needed though was HABITS.

So what I have spent the last two weeks doing has been attempting to create some positive new habits to continue them as the school year begins. Using my Any.do app to keep track of what needs done. Attempting to go through those magazines and mail as soon as they come into the house. Organizing my calendar and our menu here so that we’re not so rushed, don’t forget things, and eat better.

The biggest thing though has been getting my butt to the gym in the morning.

I’m delighted to report that I have been putting a good 30 minutes worth of exercise on the weekdays since I started. I know I need it. I know I need to lose some weight and get more active so I can keep up with what I want to do, but I’m not doing this about numbers. I purposely haven’t been weighing myself – I have been there and know that this doesn’t encourage me to continue in the long run. I want this to be about the enjoyment of being able to meet that next little challenge I set for myself. I want it to be about me going to listen to the next 30 minutes of my audiobook. I want it to be about the little bit of a rush I finally felt this morning after I stepped off the elliptical.

I have been posting my pictures of the elliptical or the Evil Machine (the cruel offspring of an elliptical and a stepper) mostly as a way to make myself accountable to others because I appreciate their cheering me on with their Likes and comments.

So here’s to my NEW One Little Word: HABIT. So far, I’m off to a good start.

15 thoughts on “Revamping My One Little Word: Slice of Life

  1. I love the way you reassessed your priorities and changed your word accordingly. Isn’t that the most beautiful think about having a word instead of a resolution? It’s easy to hit the reset button and begin again!

  2. My mom always talked about turning over a new leaf in the fall. It’s a wonderful time of new beginnings. Good luck with your new OLW and conquering the Evil Machine.

  3. I was delighted to read your report about exercising. It is so hard to implement habits. I hope that your olw will cheer along with others.

    • I’ve been smiling as I get up and get moving so far. That could all change tomorrow, but I’m thinking it won’t. I feel really proud of myself for doing what I have been so far.

  4. Maybe I need to “adopt” your word. I turn 50 in January and I wanted to “be fit at fifty” but I don’t think I am gong to make it…maybe I need to create some new positive habits as you have.

  5. Don ‘t know if I am doing this correctly – first try. I admire your resolve. Now that I have the time this is a habit I should try to form. My mind keeps saying “Get up and move ” but my body replies “later “. However, later never comes. I wish you luck.

    • Working on taming it one step at a time. It’ll feel like a major accomplishment if I could stay on it for a full half hour. And can walk the next day. That’s a two-part goal. Packing my stuff up to go visit the wretched thing tomorrow morning right now.

  6. Pingback: A Final Slice of 2013: Revisiting My One Little Word(s) and My OLW for 2014 | Charting By the Stars

Leave a Reply

