#Slice of Life: Habits and Pinky Promises

It has been an unbelievably busy summer. Road trips, #carPD (thank you, Karen Terlecky for giving the experience a hashtag!), face-to-face PD, family vacations, milestones for Jr Librarian (bike riding!), stacks of books already read and yet to be read, a new blog adventure with Sarah Andersen, planning for the upcoming school year…

But not much writing.

I swore to myself that I’d write a post about nErDcamp.

Still not done.

I promised I’d post more here.

Uh…not so much.

I made an oath to participate more in Teachers Write! this summer.

Not followed through there either.

I’m still not sure what the roadblock is but, as usual, I often find answers in books.

After a wild rush of YA #bookaday reading, I started reading The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg and I’ve gone back to the idea that I need more routines to allow me to do all the things I want to do: Write my blog posts. Keep reading. Spend time with my family. Work out. Fix dinner. Keep the house presentable. (Not necessarily in that order of priority, of course.)

Did I mention that my first choice for my One Little Word this year was HABIT? I thought that sounded far too…too boring to pick. So I picked MOVE. (That hasn’t been working very well…aside from some biking and kayaking on our vacation. I’ve not moved very much of late…)

Habits aren’t boring though. They are there to help us through the day, to set routines that we go to automatically…like the way I check my messages and calendar first thing in the morning or the way I always have at least one book on me so I can read when I have a free moment. I don’t need to think about those things any more than I think about breathing.

I’m not just thinking about habits here at home though. I’m starting to think about the habits I want to establish for me and my students as we begin a new school year in the coming weeks. I’m thinking about the routines that could save my sanity throughout the school year if I can get them set.

3 thoughts on “#Slice of Life: Habits and Pinky Promises

  1. I’ve seen others talk about the book about habits & when I was in the classroom, I did have quite a few ‘exact’ things I wanted to do each year, setting the pace for students with habits, of treating each other with respect & kindness, finding ways for the individual to do well in their own goals, and so on. Now as a literacy coach, I am starting my 4th year, & while there are basic things I do, finding the ‘habits’ that will connect with other adults is more challenging. Maybe I should read the book. It sounds like your own habits are in flux, which does happen in the summer, don’t you think, with travel & different activities pulling us in all kinds of directions. I liked hearing your thoughts about this!

  2. Great slice – I wish you luck with your habits – the greatest has to be greeting and saying goodbye to students everyday – you will never know how much this simple act may mean to some of them!

  3. I’ve got to read that book! Another friend has talked it up recently and it sounds like it fits my thinking. At school a few of us talk about systems and routine. How, especially, when we work with younger or higher-need students the routines need to be 100% predictable 100% of the time. If those routines aren’t in place kids spend too much time thinking and questioning the why, what and how to do things instead of engaging in learning. I like how you show that routines actually have the potential to maximize what we are able to do–to increase our productivity or make us more efficient. I definitely need that book.

Leave a Reply

