Jammie Day Sunday #Slice – 24 of 31

Since I woke at 4 AM cough-cough-coughing, I didn’t feel much like going anywhere today. I helped get the guys off to church and crawled back into bed.

That 4-8 AM time period was mostly spent reading on my Nook and coughing. I finished a book and started another before I drug myself out of bed. After they left, I crawled right back into bed with the hope that I could get some sleep.

Fat chance.

I read some more and rested my eyes for a bit before I decided a shower might help.

My plan was to put on fresh jammies and head back to bed, papers in tow, to hopefully get something useful accomplished.

Except it is my mom’s birthday (Happy birthday, Mom!) and the tradition – going back to when we moved to Millersburg, I think – was to go out to lunch/dinner to the place of the guest of honor’s choosing.

I didn’t even have to think about it:¬†Tradition trumps coughing.

So I got dressed, brushed my teeth, and joined my guys in the car to head to Mom’s birthday lunch.

And afterwards, I came home and climbed back into my jammies and bed, turned on the TV for some background noise, and got to work.

I don’t feel any worse for having gone, but I fear I wasn’t much fun. Hopefully having us all together to celebrate her birthday was enough to put a smile on her face. Maybe she and I can have a day out sometime after we’re all over our respective bugs to make up for my blah-ness today.

Some more work tonight and then some much-needed rest so I can get over this yuckiness I picked up. Especially since I suspect an early morning like the last time we had potential for a snow day – that was when I woke to the Jr Librarian staring at me at 4 AM asking if we could go watch the news together…just in case there would be a delay or closing.

5 thoughts on “Jammie Day Sunday #Slice – 24 of 31

  1. I’m glad you don’t feel worse from going out to celebrate, but I totally get that feeling of “was I fun to be around because I’m sick.” That happened to me a couple of nights ago.

    Feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

