A #Slice of Yoda-Speak – 23 of 31

I woke up this morning and settled in at my desk to a mountain of things to do. Hubs had a meeting with the rest of the spring soccer coaches.

So the kid and I were home alone.

Some days that means that nothing is going to get done. It’s, “Mom….” this and “Moooooooooommmmmmm…” that.

There was a bit of that this morning, but nothing I could complain about.

All of his requests had to do with reading and writing.

That kid sure knows the way to his mother’s heart.

I know I have shared before how blessed the Jr Librarian has been to have his grandparents so close and involved in his life. My mom is the guardian of afternoon snacks and homework and games and piano practice. My dad is the time keeper – the one who controls the “random pick of oatmeal of the day” and the daily readings of the Children’s Book-A-Day Almanac  and other morning routines (like checking clothing, schedules, and supervising teeth-brushing).

My dad has also been in charge of Breakfast Book Club (my name for it) since Bryson has been old enough to listen to books.

Aside from one long hiccup, my dad has been keeping my son company in the morning and getting him where he needs to go – first the sitter’s and now the school bus – and nearly always (unless they are running wicked late) have their morning routines involved some kind of reading.

Is it any surprise that this kid loves books as much as he does?

So this week, they finished reading the misplaced-for-some-time copy of Darth Paper Strikes Back and began The Secret of the Fortune Wookiee on Friday.

Fast forward to this morning.

I could hear him pad into the study behind me.

“Mom…” he started.

“Yes?”

“I have a question for Tom Angleberger.”

“Great. Write him a letter and I’ll get it to him.”

I am not sure what I expected, but I think I was a little surprised that he retreated…only to return a few minutes later.

“How do you spell SENTENCES?”

I scribbled the answer down on some scrap paper. He scurried out of the room with it in his hands.

“How do you spell SERIES?” He was back again. I scribbled the answer down and he was gone.

After a long stretch of quiet, he came to me with his first draft. Some things were scratched out and written over. “Type this up, please.”

No way. “No, I think it would mean more if you rewrote it nicely. Let’s fix this word here though. And double check his name on the book.” (In his excitement he’d transposed two letters.) I handed him a marker and a few sheets of fresh notebook paper.

He came back with this:

903166_4702444715177_1822350885_o My heart went pitter-patter. And you better believe I sent this off in an email immediately to Mr. Angleberger.

We didn’t have to wait long for a reply either.

It was like he was on stand-by just for this message to come his way.

This kid has been more than blessed by the reading mentors and guides he’s had along the way – the people who read with him and the people who write for kids like him.

He’s been lucky enough to have opportunities to write also. But something about this felt more significant than the notes he’s written to me and his dad and his grandparents. Or even the notes to my grandmother a couple of weeks ago. Or the thank you he wrote that I need to get mailed to JoEllen for the well-timed and beautiful books she sent him.

He had something he wanted to know. It was bugging him. And he didn’t think he’d find the answer in a book. (Interestingly, we hadn’t yet gotten a copy of the just-released Art2-D2’s Guide to Folding and Doodling – the answer is in there…) His best place to find the answer was with Tom.

Smart kid.

May he always be as smart as he is right now.

7 thoughts on “A #Slice of Yoda-Speak – 23 of 31

  1. Beth,
    Love those authentic reading/writing moments. I enjoyed the story of your son and his grandparents. I’m sure your parents enjoy the time as well.

    Cathy

  2. Success! It sounds like your Junior Librarian has been mentored very well. Reading/writing through the generations…priceless.

Leave a Reply

