Clean Up #Slice – 15 of 31

Please click on the image to go to the Two Writing Teachers blog to see what others have written for their Slice of Life Challenge posts.

Please click on the image to go to the Two Writing Teachers blog to see what others have written for their Slice of Life Challenge posts.

I was tense and wound up after a chaotic day at school today. I knew when I walked back into my room this afternoon that I needed to do something before I headed home. So I fired up a good playlist on Spotify and took a bit of time tonight to clean off my desk, tidy up my room, and put things away.

I packed up a suitcase of my son’s picture books to bring home. (We had stacks of them everywhere for the trip to the elementary school.)

I can see the top of my desk again. And the big table at the front of my room. And the table by the windows.

I put stuff up on my bulletin boards that I had intended to put up a while ago.

I knew I’d done enough when I felt a sigh of relief. So I packed up my papers to bring home and grade this weekend and headed to my car.

I know that the time I took to do this will pay off in a big way next week when I walk into my room.

15 thoughts on “Clean Up #Slice – 15 of 31

    • It will probably get repurposed again next week. :) Amazingly, there is still another big bag of picture books at school. I knew I’d better return them to the kid or else I would be in trouble.

  1. I need to do this in my room as well. I hate to ask for a stressful day, but maybe a clean desk will be the payoff! I least I recruited help (from my daughter & her boyfriend) to put pictures up in the hallway after school. I can’t wait to see my students reactions on Monday.

    • I needed to do some rearranging. I had run out of corners, if you know what I mean. I needed some extra seats and I realized that if I did a bit of changing things around, I could use this big beautiful library table as a place to put kids who need to be closer to the screen…or to me.

    • And how much that straightening up can improve our spirits. I seriously walked out of there feeling far more calm than I was at the end of the day. I felt like something was accomplished, put right.

Leave a Reply

