Thoughts on Literacy, Illiteracy, and Aliteracy – a #WRAD #Slice – 6 of 31

sols_6

Please click on the image to go to the Two Writing Teachers blog to see what others have written for their Slice of Life Challenge posts.

Like so many others, I spent some time thinking about how to spend World Read Aloud Day. Last year we celebrated with Skype visits with authors Gae Polisner, Sarah Darer Littman, and David Macinnis Gill.

I knew having Skype visits for every single class would be tough to pull off again, so I decided to switch gears completely.

I had pitched an idea in the fall of having my ninth graders come read to the elementary students – to get to be rock star readers all on their own. I had visions of how this would revitalize my readers and encourage the younger readers.

I wish I could tell you what happened.

The sad truth is that I fell for the weather service’s reports of a big snow storm heading our way. By the end of the school day yesterday, I decided to postpone our trip until next Wednesday.

*sigh*

I nearly had a riot on my hands first thing this morning. Kids were dressed nicely for the occasion. They were looking forward to this brief field trip. They wanted to see their old teachers, perhaps younger siblings, and they wanted to share their books. They came in asking where we were meeting after second period to go.

Crud. I forgot to let them know.

So I sent out a tweet from the freshman class accounts (which most of my ninth graders follow via text messaging from their phones).

That just led to more students dropping in and pointing at the non-snow outside my window, looking unhappy.

So we had a change of plans, but I will call it an opportunity for learning.

We spent some time talking about what World Read Aloud Day is meant to do: highlight and draw attention to the plight of illiteracy worldwide. The whole point is to, “Celebrate by reading aloud, giving away a book, or taking action in any way you can to Read It Forward on behalf of the 793 million people who cannot read.”

I couldn’t help but wonder how that number compared to the population of the US or the rest of the world.

There are more people on this planet who cannot read is more than double the entire population of the United States, but still a mere 11% of the population of the planet.

That’s far too many people who cannot benefit from this most basic and necessary skill. They cannot look up answers to questions. They cannot escape into a good book. They are limited to non-print news sources and having others read letters and other communications to them.

This is a basic right. A right that apparently far too many people are denied.

A right that far too many people in this country apparently choose not to embrace.

According to a Pew Internet and American Life Project survey from December 2011, 78% of Americans ages 16 and older read a book in the previous year.

That means that we have 22% of our nation’s population who either cannot read or choose not to read books.

I’d like to think that means that newspapers and magazines and blog posts are still possible reading material for that 22%, but I fear the worst.

Looking at more specific breakdown of the readers in that 78%, they found that:

“Roughly three in 10 are light readers (one to five books in the past 12 months); another 25% to 31% are moderate readers (six to 20) and just about two in 10 are heavy readers (21 or more books) in the past 12 months.”

Wow.

I spend so much time talking to my friends and family who live in that heavy reader category along with me that I admit I was a bit surprised to see how small that group is: just 20% of 78% of 315, 000,000.

Is it any wonder that my heart sunk when I heard on NPR this morning that the Secretary of State John Kerry said that, “Americans have a right to be stupid if you want to be”?

I will refrain from typing here what really went through my mind when I heard that, but I couldn’t help but be frightened that this is a right worth fighting for in a world where there are so many struggling to become educated, to be able to read and write for themselves.

I’m begging you from the deepest part of my soul:

Fight the right to be stupid and promote the right to read. 

Read to your kids, your friends, your family, your students. Put books in the hands of total strangers. Talk about the best books that are out there, the newspaper articles that have been haunting your thoughts, the stuff you come across in your Twitter & Facebook feeds or blog posts or random internet quests.

Whatever you do, don’t give up.

I can promise you that you won’t be alone.

11 thoughts on “Thoughts on Literacy, Illiteracy, and Aliteracy – a #WRAD #Slice – 6 of 31

  1. This is so full of information! I will share with my students your data about the illiteracy compared to the US population! We read aloud today with my high school students!

  2. I found the defined categories of light, moderate, and heavy readers intriguing. I think throughout my life all three descriptors could have fit me. I believe goal setting, awarness, and inspiration have everything to do with the issue of alliteracy. Donalyn Miller is my reading hero, and folks like her and Penny Kittle are making a ruckus in the world. Your students are so blessed to have a passionate teacher who spreads “book love” across the school. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    • We’re all blessed to have Donalyn and Penny as trailblazers for us!
      I know I have been in all of those categories at one time or another in my life as well. Thankfully I had parents who made it a priority to get me to the library and who read to me (and still do!) when I was younger so it was easier for me to go back to reading when I hit those Long Dark Reading Nights of the Soul. I do what I can for my students so they are as well-prepared as they leave my room as they can possibly be.

    • I’m sad I heard it today (it happened 2/26), but I guess it led to this post, so… Anyway, read the NPR story – the gist was that they were saying he needed to learn to watch how far he went now that he’s not just speaking for himself or his state but rather the administration and the entire country.

    • I don’t think it’s just limited to political leaders to say things like this – or at least to believe it. Think about how many times you may have heard about “some children choose to be left behind.” There is a certain amount of truth to that, but that doesn’t mean that I want to give up on anyone. That might be their choice for that day, but there is always tomorrow.
      I’m glad you appreciated the essay. It was time well-spent then to write it. :)

  3. So much to think about. I work so hard to create a strong reading culture in my classroom, but sometimes it feels like I’m struggling against the crowd. At least for this year, my students are readers, and many do continue once they leave. Unfortunately, some of their school experiences have contributed to aliteracy. Many of my students claim they still aren’t readers. When I point out how much they have read this year, they tell me that what they’re doing isn’t reading because it’s not tied to a multiple choice test or other school activity.

Leave a Reply

