It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/25/13

I didn’t post the last couple of weeks because I have been in a bit of a reading slump.

There’s no good reason for it. I went into February 5 (the day after my last post) with every intention of reading as I had been.

And then I didn’t.

There are a ton of reasons – headaches, meetings, other responsibilities, sleepiness, frustration that I didn’t seem to be enjoying Code Name Verity as much as other people  – but any time you fall out of habit with anything – even something you love as much as reading – you have a hard time getting back into your usual routine.

So…after a couple weeks of grumpiness (I get grumpy when I don’t get to read as much as I’d like), I broke my slump this past weekend.

On Saturday alone, I read through Allen Say’s Drawing from Memory (I read it three times in a row!), Smile, Zombies Calling, and The Wizard.

By Saturday evening, I had curled back up with Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock – which I hadn’t read but a page or two of in over two weeks.

I’m still working on finishing Silver Linings Playbook on audio. I’m not exactly sure why this is taking so long other than the fact that every time I turn it on to listen to, I get interrupted. Perhaps it’s time to take a break and listen to something else. I have a back-log of titles sitting here to listen to – including Beautiful Creatures, Eragon, Lord of the Flies (which I’m rereading with my students – this audio copy is read by Golding himself!), The Night Circus, The Scorpio Races, and The Book Thief.

What’s on my list to read in the next week? I think I’ll be a bit more conservative this time in my predictions.

1. Finish Silver Linings Playbook and Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock.

2. The Secret Life of Walter Kitty

3. Bully

4. Reread Lord of the Flies.

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/25/13

  1. I am heading into a reading slump myself! A pile of books, but none interesting to me right now. After figuring out that the Matthew Quick of ya fame wrote the Silver Linings play book I am now interested. Let me know if you like it.

    • I like Silver Linings Playbook, but I don’t think it has drawn me in the same way as it would have if I’d read it before seeing the movie. (I know – I broke the cardinal rule there, didn’t I?) I can’t help keeping score about how they are different… Still, I like how he is trying so hard to do what is right…even if it is for the wrong reasons (to get back together with his wife).

Leave a Reply

