One Sleepy Slice of Life

I have come to realize that Tuesdays are like marathons.

All day I feel like I’m powering on mile after mile without a break. Teach four periods. Go to a lunch meeting. Teach another class. Go to another meeting (or, if it’s a regular Tuesday, enjoy the company of several enthusiastic students who want to work in my classroom on their English work during study hall). Teach another class. Take a breath or two while grading some papers until the open door welcomes a couple of students who wanted to pick my brain about something. Go to a meeting after school. Then tonight it was a trip to the chiropractor, a wait in the drive-thru, followed by a long drive to another meeting, then coming back home.

And, finally, around 9:15 pm – better than fourteen hours after I left the starting blocks this morning, I crossed the finish line.

It would be one thing if it was just today, but it seems to be how my Tuesdays go as a general rule these days and it may be why I pull the covers over my head when my alarm goes off on Tuesday mornings.

This doesn’t mean that the things I’m doing aren’t important. They absolutely are. But the fact that so many things happen all on one day is what exhausts me.

I was grateful to escape on the way to my meeting by listening to an audiobook (still working on finishing The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick – for some reason every time I put my headphones in, something interrupts me lately…) and I had a fantastic conversation with my dad on the way home.

And then I took a little more time to celebrate the end of a ridiculously long day to do what I wanted – I participated in the online discussion about Lee Ann Spillane’s book Reading Amplified (Join us at Facebook or in the online book!) and I’m taking a bit of time to write this post. (I have been slacking in my blogging goals already for this year!) It’s amazing how much just this little bit of time for me in this otherwise exhausting day can recharge me and send me to bed with a smile on my face instead of a grimace.

3 thoughts on “One Sleepy Slice of Life

  1. Wow! What a day, and you made it to your slice. Kudos to you. I felt the hecticness of you day and was right there with you. Last week was like that for me, and all I produced was a haiku and the slice box checked. Kudos to you. For you, you may be slacking, but you’re still writing (and living and learning), and that’s what counts.

  2. I’m certainly impressed by your getting through the day without falling once! It is quite the crazy busy day. And I think you’re right, it’s those little moments that are precious energy, like reading a bit of Lee Ann’s book, etc. Nice share!

Leave a Reply

