It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/4/13

That week without internet really threw me off. More than I think I would have expected.

But no more excuses. It’s been back on for a couple of weeks. So where have my posts been?

STUCK IN MY HEAD.

The comments there aren’t as good as the ones you all leave, so here’s the catch-up edition – and I’ll start fresh again today.

Mon Reading Button PB to YA

My Reading Adventures from Last Week

I kicked off my reading week by adding a bunch of titles that I had somehow missed that were named as award and honor winners at ALAYMA.

(The Jr Librarian and I had an inclement weather day so we watched the awards together and finished the hour long webcast screaming and crying tears of joy. What a beautiful experience to have with my son…so glad he loves books as much as I do!)

More than adding the books to my TBR list, I scouted what was available at the public library. Somehow the Library Gods smiled on me once again and I was able to get a stack without a wait. (I haven’t finished any yet, so I’ll share when I get to the plan for next week…)

So what did I read if I didn’t read any of those gems?

Here’s what I got done since my last post on January 7:

goodreads list Feb 4

This isn’t ALL I have been reading. It’s just what I have finished. Somehow meetings and other stuff has kept me from hanging out in the library reading a picture books for my personal challenge to be better read in that realm.

I have also been reading The Tragedy Paper by Elizabeth Laban. I started rereading Stupid Fast by Geoff Herbach (so I can read the sequel Nothing Special with a fresh memory of the first one). I picked up The Magicians by Lev Grossman again since I found out I get to go hear him speak in April at the Dauphin County Library System’s Light the Way to Learning banquet. (If you live locally and want to join us, here’s the information!) I have been reading Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life by Amy Krouse Rosenthal also. On audio, I have been bouncing between Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick and finishing Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver. I tend to multi-task on my reading – and I have books stashed EVERYWHERE.

I will write more about Aristotle and Dante… as soon as I can find the right words to do so. I finished it last night instead of watching the Super Bowl. Likewise with The Running Dream. I have noticed though that I have a couple of themes running through my books that I have read over the last couple of weeks: running and star-gazing. And loyalty.

But I did do some #bookgapchallenge work here. Boy21 and The Running Dream fit for sports reads (though neither is just a sports story). Seraphina counts as my first fantasy read. (Lord did I cheer when it won the Morris Award! I am sooooooo grateful Donalyn recommended this to me! I loved it – every word!) Plus I can count Temple Grandin as my first NF read.

So what’s up for this week?

It’s a tall order…and I don’t mean the coffee!

wpid-2013-02-04_09-40-24_5.jpg

If I’m lucky, I’ll get through half of these plus finish my audiobooks. If I’m REALLY lucky, I’ll have some picture book titles to report about next week.

One more title I’m working on – Reading Amplified by Lee Ann Spillane. I’m looking forward to being part of the online book club discussing this starting February 17 and would love for you to join us! I got so much out of the holiday break online book club for Penny Kittle’s Book Love that I can hardly wait for this one to start!

Happy reading to you all!

Go check out the other It’s Monday! posts for today here at teachmentortexts.com!

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/4/13

  1. You’ve been busy! I am wrapping up the audio of Seraphina today. What an unusual story! I need to work in some nonfiction reads soon. I have my eye on Bomb. Ever since discovering Sorta Like a Rock Star I have been meaning to read more Matthew Quick. Have a great week, looks like you have some good books to keep you busy.

  2. LOVE Seraphina, Boy 21, and The Running Dream! Three of my favorite YAs. Yours is one of the many posts I’ve read today that included the book Aristotle and Dante. Everybody has enjoyed it, which is encouraging as I have it on my TBR list for this week! SO jealous that you have Leonard Peacock. Absolutely my Most Anticipated Book of 2013. ADORE Code Name Verity, and hope to get to Bomb and In Darkness this week!

  3. WHOOO! Seraphina will be some big shoes to fill for the next fantasy read. Kathy (BrainLair) and I read it as a Batty book and we adored it. I was so jazzed when she won the Morris.

    I tend to have at least 6 books going at once as well… glad it’s not just me.

  4. Adored The Running Dream! Such a powerful book! I had to buy one for my daughter’s high school, since she ran cross country. I am tempted to look at Seraphina, just not sure it would be what my middle school students want.

Leave a Reply

