24 Hours Just Isn’t Enough: Slice of Life

I don’t think my days start too differently from everyone else.

Sometimes I roll over groggily to turn off my alarm (or, on those groggy days, hit the snooze). Sometimes I bounce right out of bed ready to go.

No matter which extreme I go to in the morning when I wake up, I start my day by thinking about all the stuff I have to get done.

The list this morning went something like this:

* run copies for tomorrow’s classes

* check with students and counslor about glitch in Common Core referrals

* return Eli’s notebook

* give stuff to Vicky

* call Bob

* meeting at lunchtime

* get kid to dentist appointment (preferably get him to brush his teeth before going)

* get kid to haircut appointment

* go to school board meeting

* enter yearbook orders

The day looked like a blur before it even started and all I could do was sigh. This was going to be one of Those Days where I knew that it going to be fine, but good heavens. How in the world do you fit everything in?

Thankfully my days are not always like this.

If they were, I’d have to lobby seriously for a few extra hours to be added to my days.

8 thoughts on “24 Hours Just Isn’t Enough: Slice of Life

  1. Yep–we all have those days. Once my boys left, it did take some of the hectic out. But then I just added more! Already starting my list for tomorrow!

    • No doubt about it – the boy keeps me busier than I would be otherwise. He keeps me young and keeps me honest about doing what I say I’m going to do…as I’m sure he will this week with plans to go to the PA Farm Show.

  2. I identified with your words, “The day looked like a blur before it even started and all I could do was sigh.” Glad for the “Thankfully my days are not always like this,” at the the end . . . Good reminder for all of us.

  3. Love the list. It made me feel good to know others are running around too! I think I do know that in my heart, but when you’re all-in and going every minute it’s easy to swept away.

  4. Your comment about how not every day is like this made me recall that I tend to think in terms of my hours for a whole week because 24 in a day aren’t enough but usually 168 in a week can be.

Leave a Reply

