It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 1/7/13

Mon Reading Button PB to YA

My friends from Twitter have been participating in this meme for a while and I’m, as usual, slow to get started on most things. But I have been following their posts and have decided that if I am reading theirs, maybe other people would want to read mine.

So here goes:

My Reading Adventures from Last Week

I curled up last Monday evening and decided to power through a few more books on the off chance that I could actually finish my 2012 Goodreads Challenge.

2012 challenge

So here’s what I read that night to finish up:

  • TEENBOAT! by Dave Roman and John Green
  • Sailor Twain by Mark Siegel
  • Hate That Cat by Sharon Creech
  • Pokemon Black & White Vol. 1

I know I don’t need to apologize or explain why I read what I do, but I will point out that I live with a certain young man who is completely obsessed with all things Pokemon at the moment. He’d left this book out and I decided to read it and see if it made more sense to me. All I could think of was Hermione wanting to free the house elves. Poor little Pokemon…

I also read half of Temple Grandin: How the Girl Who Loved Cows Embraced Autism and Changed the World and continued to read Seraphina.

Actually, reading Seraphina seems to be most of my reading time this week. The Overdrive copy on my tablet expired and I had to track down another copy to finish since I couldn’t just renew it. I’m hoping to have it finished by this time next week.

I did follow through on my plan to read picture books. I settled in on Thursday night and read, read, read until I realized we needed to get home!

column 1 column 2

 

My Reading Adventures for Next Week:

  • Finish Seraphina.
  • Finish Temple Grandin.
  • Finish the audiobook of Before I Fall.
  • Read Boy 21.
  • Read the Babymouse book that my son set out for me to read.
  • Get my hands on Smile and read that. (I’m so far behind the times on this…)
  • Read a small stack of picture books.

That looks lofty at the moment.

The fact that I even think that is funny.

Seriously. You should see the rest of my library book stack. THIS is nothing compared to that. Some days I think I should do the books-borrowed-from-the-library versus books-read essays like Nick Hornby’s books-bought versus books-read pieces in The Polysyllabic Spree: A Hilarious and True Account of One Man’s Struggle With the Monthly Tide of the Books He’s Bought and the Books He’s Been Meaning to Read.

That’s not a bad idea.

Let’s see how my reading plan works next week first. I might actually get done what I set out to do already.

 

 

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 1/7/13

    • I liked it very much. It wasn’t at all what I expected. Boy21 fascinated me, but not as much as the MC – his reactions to everything going on around him, his sense of loyalty, his changes in thinking and action…fascinating. The ending did not do as much for me – I kind of wished for more, I think.

  1. I am reading my first zombie novel, per the request of my students. Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry. 1/2 way through and actually has quite a bit of heart and story-line to be a zombie novel. WIll eventually read 2 and 3 but want to read John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars and Bray’s The DIviners first. Hate to switch mid series but they just came in and I’m dying to read them. I’m not good with multi-booking.

Leave a Reply

