Reading Gaps

I have known for a while that I don’t read as widely as I probably should.

I tend to read the books my son and my students will read (more YA, MG, and PB than “grown up books”), but even there I have things I’ll pass over.

You can sell me on just about any dystopian fiction, but you’re probably not going to catch me reading fantasy.

Anything that has a mystery to it will catch my eye, but I’m probably not going to pick up a book just because it’s about sports.

I live for books about families and friends,  but I’m not generally drawn to books that are primarily about romance.

I read non fiction, but I know I should be reading more. (Most of what I read is related to teaching. That and a huge amount of news.)

And the quirkier the characters, the happier I am.

So I know that I have these gaps. I know that these books I don’t generally pick up are the same ones that many of my students long to read. I do my best to familiarize myself with all sorts of titles thanks to reviews and paying attention when my reader friends are talking.

But I want to make it a goal for myself to step out of my comfort zone a bit more in 2013. I’m hoping to read at least one a month.

Help me find some titles that I really shouldn’t miss out on – especially the ones that would speak to my high school students. Leave some titles for me in the comments here or on Twitter (#bookgapchallenge) for me to check out.

Anyone game for trying this with me?

15 thoughts on “Reading Gaps

  1. I’m game. My major gap is romance. I did read Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac last week and it was well done. For sports, I’d recommend Tears of a Tiger by Sharon Draper and Stupid Fast by Geoff Herback. Oh, and Boy21 by Matthew Quick.

    • Boy21 is on my list. I read Stupid Fast and LOVED it. Psyched that I have Nothing Special here. It’s up next. :) Adding Tears of a Tiger. I loved Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac – loved the characters – and the yearbook stuff. :) Does that count as romance?

      • Loved both Geoff Herbach books but I don’t think they’re sports books. Football is only a tiny bit of the story.

        I’ve got your fantasy covered…non-fiction is my huge gap, as well as sports books. My husband reads those for me. :)

      • My husband is far more interested in the classics. He asked Santa for what turned out to be two incredibly HUGE volumes of The Iliad and The Odyssey – with the original language and the English translation. That being said, he’s the far bigger Harry Potter fan in this house and he will read anything that Rick Riordan writes. And lots of non fiction.
        I do read non fiction, I just feel like I don’t read enough. I know this is the area that needs beefed up in my classroom library as well. (And also my graphic novels. There just aren’t as many as I’d like…)

  2. Love the post. For nonfiction, start with the shortlist from YALSA. I loved BOMB, WE’VE GOT A JOB, TITANIC. Try Keturah and Lord Death for fantasy. Let me know if any of these click. I got a million. And I second STUPID FAST. Teri

    • I definitely have BOMB on the list – looks amazing. I will try Titanic again, but for some reason I have never been attracted to this event in history in any form. (I may be the only person on the planet who still hasn’t seen the movie…) I have the book in my classroom.
      Thanks for the recs on the fantasy books, too. I’ll look for them.
      God knows you have a zillion recommendations you can make. It’s one of the zillion reasons why I am so lucky to count you as a friend. :) I’ll let you know how these go. :)
      (In case you didn’t see my other comment, I read STUPID FAST and LOVE it. :)

  3. I know how you feel, Cindy. I’m trying to fill in my reading gaps as well (historical fiction, non-fiction, etc.)

    Fantasy–The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson, The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima
    Sports–I second Boy21 by Matthew Quick, Leverage by Joshua C. Cohen
    Romance–Time Between Us by Tammara Ireland Stone (time travel, too!), Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, Easy by Tammara Webber (New Adult)

      • You are definitely not alone! This year it’s been my goal to read more fantasy, science fiction, and graphic novels. In 2013 I think it will be my goal to read more historical fiction, sports fiction, and non-fiction.

  4. Pingback: Cleaning House | Charting By the Stars

  5. My gaps are huge since I have not always been a reader. I will try to fill some of my Newbery gaps, picture books and poetry. I am sure I will find more gas along the way :) This is a great idea!

    • Thanks! I spent the last couple of years trying to catch up on PB – but I have great help and a willing participant in my household to keep me on track (my son). I needed someone else to keep me honest on filling my other book gaps. :) Have fun!

  6. Pingback: Reading Gaps

  7. Pingback: What I Read in 2012 – in Stars « the (book) supplier

  8. Pingback: CELEBRATE: Family and Friends | Charting By the Stars

Leave a Reply

