Wee Hours of the Morning Thoughts

Yep. I got up at 4:30 in the morning to do homework on a Saturday.

It’s not as crazy as it sounds. The rest of today will be full of all kinds of wonderful things:

Cheering at my son’s soccer game

Celebrating my aunts’ birthdays with family

Shopping for some new fall/winter outfits

Getting to be the passenger instead of the driver on our travels

All of these things will be far more enjoyable if I have a certain amount of work done and things crossed off my to-do list.

Except I’m looking at some of the things I brought home and realized that I forgot some of the other things I needed to be able to cross that particular item of homework off my list this weekend.

NUTS.

And that becomes my Guilt Pile for the weekend.

You teachers know what I’m talking about. We look at our stuff as we get ready to leave our classrooms and think, “Yeah…I can totally get that done tonight/this weekend/over break,” and so we pack it up and take it home with us.

And never look at it.

Let’s be fair here. I put in long hours. I often am doing homework at home. But it never fails that there is at least one thing that I lug home and it doesn’t get started, looked at, organized. NOTHING.

It sits there and glares at you.

The Guilt Pile.

Some of us have Guilt Bags (bonus points if they are in a cute bag that you got JUST to cart homework back and forth in), but that just dresses up the problem and keeps the kids and pets from shredding what’s inside.

After all, you know what’s in there.

Maybe I’ll just move that pile of stuff to my trunk for the rest of the weekend and worry about what I can get done now instead of writing silly posts.

3 thoughts on “Wee Hours of the Morning Thoughts

  1. Unfortunately I know this pile too well! I have just begun October break and brought home a big pile I MUST do as conferences and portfolios are a week after break ends. I am also sure I will be in school one day this week.

    • Yep. I know this feeling. The good news is that I have an inservice day on Monday and should have some extra time to get some things done then before the kiddos come back Tuesday. Before I collect anything else. ;)

    • Yep. I know this feeling. The good news is that I have an inservice day on Monday and should have some extra time to get some things done then before the kiddos come back Tuesday. Before I collect anything else. ;) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

