Trying to Power Back Up: #Slice

So a couple of weeks ago I took a week away from technology. No projector or Google searches in my class. No Edmodo. No Spotify or Netflix to give me any noise in the background. No cell phone. No Twitter or Facebook. No blogging. No library catalog searches or requests. No TV. No video games.

I’d say no email, but that’s not entirely true.

I did use my personal email once – maybe twice – a day especially since I had important information going back and forth between me and my eye doctor.

I did survive.

In fact, I’m finding I’m having a harder time than I expected powering back up.

Don’t get me wrong. The minute 7:15 last Tuesday morning rolled around, I was all over doing a couple of Google searches that were bugging me all week. I fired up my phone later for the first time in a week and found it felt strange to hold it. It felt heavier than I had remembered.

But here it is, a week later, and I realized this morning that I was still posting what we were doing on the whiteboard with markers instead of projecting it on the screen while I’m typing.

And my phone battery hasn’t died before putting it on the charger at bedtime.

I checked back in on Facebook – and other than the engagement of one former student while I was on hiatus, I’m not sure how much news I missed. I’ve been quieter on both FB and Twitter since my return. I don’t know that I know why yet. I honestly don’t think I realized it until tonight.

I’ll write more about my adventures as a techie geek living without tech over the next couple of weeks.

But right now it’s time to shut down the computer and get some sleep before another wildly busy day tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Trying to Power Back Up: #Slice

    • I was genuinely surprised. I think with all my eye trouble, I haven’t necessarily gotten more done, but I did feel less rushed about everything. I didn’t feel like I was being pulled in twenty directions at once like I sometimes do trying to keep up with all the technology. It would be interesting to see what would happen if we were unplugged over the summer…

    • We have had the no-tech rule when we’ve gone camping. We’ve never done anything like a trip to Jamaica. My phone battery died before dinner every day we were at Disney though…

Leave a Reply

