Looking Ahead: #slice2012

I admit it – I’m impressed with myself.

28 days of posts, no breaks.

I can’t say that every day I was inspired to write, but I made sure that something was posted.

Just because I said I would.

This led me to a thought that I had this morning as I was thinking about all the things on my to-do list for the day:

I’d better post something this morning because I might not have much time to do it later.

While I’m also thinking, “Ugh…” about the insane list of things that need to be accomplished, places that I need to be, and the hope that I can maintain some degree of sanity through next week…I was surprised that this got bumped to the top of my to-do list.

It only takes a few minutes to post (on the computer – I’m still kind of slow with posting via the fancyphone).  I’ll catch an opportunity to post some comments in the few minutes between this thing and that thing after school.

I read somewhere that it takes 28 days to form a habit.

I think I’ve done it.

Now, I just need to keep it up.

11 thoughts on “Looking Ahead: #slice2012

  1. Yay! Good point. I know I’ve lost some sleep along the way,but I think you’re right.

    Now I just need to find that “story” inside of me and use my writing habit to make that happen. Getting published – in a real, live book – has always been a dream of mine..

  2. I haven’t been quite a diligent as you and are a couple short of the 28 however I too find it amazing the way slicing is a priority on my to do list. I have plundered my writer’s notebook of any gems so once April comes I think I may need to gather a few entries. Thank you for your comment on ‘the lessons along the way’ @thelitladies. It has been great to share the journey with so many other teachers of writers/writing

  3. Glad to hear you have formed a habit. I have a habit but like most of my habits it comes in fits and starts. I will leave my March 31st post and not write again for a while. I am a binge reader, writer, exerciser, baker, etc. I throw my all into one thing and then let it rest awhile while I try my hand at something else. Hmmm…this could be a post for tomorrow:)

  4. I hope I continue writing regulary; however, I am in need of some more sleep and some attention to other areas of my life” exercize, bills, sleep…..you know the other stuff….that could be my next slice!

  5. “The Power of Habit” by Charles Duhigg is a current book that caught my attention recently. I highly recommend, not as a self-help book, but as a resource for understanding the phenomena of habit. It dovetailed with so many other books or parts of books like Menninger’s “The Vital Balance.” and Keith Code’s “A Twist of the Wrist.” We simply cannot function without habits, otherwise we would need to think through every detail of everything we did each day, and that is precisely where multi-taskers make a huge mistake. Code says we must first master and make habitual the operation of a motorcycle before we can free up our attention to the actual process of riding, which will require all of our attention on the track or street. If we need to think about shifting or braking, we don’t have as much attention to give to oncoming traffic, developing situations seconds down the road or that car that is easing through a stop sign on our right. Throw in fiddling with a phone and there is that much less attention for staying alive. As to writing habits, that is simple. A day without writing is like a day without sunshine. So too is a day without math, a good laugh and a child’s smile.

    • I just downloaded the sample for “The Power of Habit” to my Kindle a couple of days ago. Now I’m looking forward to taking a closer look. It seems such a good point that putting some parts of our lives in a comfortable routine or habit helps us to free up attention to new things.

  6. I have to agree. I think I’ve formed a writing habit in these days — one I much needed again. I think I’ve also formed a reading and commenting habit. I guess it’s all good.

    Cathy

  7. Yippee for us! I’m happy I’ve stuck with it too, especially since I crashed and burned during NaNoWriMo last fall. Tuesday slicing will be enough for awhile for me…

  8. Congratulations on making it through the challenge. I have impressed myself as well throughout this time – never thought I’d make it, but I did. I hope writing has become a habit for me as well. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

