A Little Bedtime Reading: #slice2012

I just went in to say goodnight to my son after his dad has read him The Lorax for probably the millionth time this week and found him sitting up with his flashlight bookmark, giant Dr. Seuss book in his lap.

Since he had his little bedside light, he didn’t need to use the flashlight, but something about the whole setting made me a bit jealous.

“You know, buddy,” I started, “I wasn’t allowed to flip through a book after bedtime.”

“Really?” he said without bothering to look up. Pages flip, flip, flip.

“Yep. But I wasn’t about to let something as ridiculous as ‘lights out’ keep me from reading.I did not have a flashlight, but I did have this awesome alarm clock with the red numbers. If I crawled under the covers and opened the book flat, I could prop the alarm clock so that the numbers were facing towards my book. I’d use it as a flashlight so Nana wouldn’t know I was up past bedtime.”

Flip. Flip. Flip.

“Because Nana wouldn’t let me read after she tucked us in.”

Flip. Flip. Flip.

“You don’t need to do that. You get to leave the light on. And you have this flashlight. But you usually get tired and go to sleep soon after we tuck you in anyway.”

“Uh huh.” Flip. Flip. Flip.

I don’t think he realizes how good he has it.

Or maybe he does. And he wasn’t going to let me distract him from his nightly reading with my silly memories.

For the record, Mom said she always knew. So much for stealth.

6 thoughts on “A Little Bedtime Reading: #slice2012

  1. So sweet, Cindy. I could really picture him flip flip flipping. I was allowed to read for half an hour with the lights on, but then my parents made me go to bed at 7:30 until I was about 10 years old!

Leave a Reply

