Preoccupation: #slice2012

Have you ever had a day where, no matter how hard you tried, you just couldn’t manage to shake this flurry of thoughts?

Here’s everything I tried so far:

  • Grading
  • Picking the Hunger Games nail color I want
  • Email
  • Talking books with my students
  • Those yummy veggie sticks
  • Talking on the phone
  • Reading a book
  • Commenting on student work
  • Asking my husband how his day at work was
  • Talking to my parents
  • Setting up my hubby’s Nook account to be friends with me so he can borrow my books (Even though my dad got the one he wanted first…)
  • Curling up in my new red Snuggie ($2 bargain on clearance!) and watching How I Met Your Mother episodes on Netflix
  • Asking my son how his day at school was
  • Asking my son how his tumbling class went
  • Writing and rewriting this post (This is attempt #4…)

Not working.

My brain has been busily chugging away on a mystery of sorts that I’m not going to be able to solve by myself. Better to wait until the doctor can run his tests and explain why my eye keeps swelling shut every night than to play the role of amateur detective attempting to see where all the clues point, but easier said than done.

8 thoughts on “Preoccupation: #slice2012

  1. This sounds like the post I was going to write about all the things I can find to do when I need to do progress reports. :) Good luck with solving that mystery! Julie

  2. I think I know just what you mean. I was supposed to go see a movie with a friend the other day and I told her I just didn’t think I could sit quiet and still for that long. My mind was ablaze. We ended up meeting for a meal instead, so I could talk, talk, talk out my thoughts. I hope your flurry of thoughts contains some of the good kinds of sparks, not just stress-inducing ones!

Leave a Reply

