A #BookBuddy Adventure Starts!

Earlier this week, I saw my friend Colby Sharp announce that he and another friend Jen Vincent decided to start their own little version of a book club. Different from other ones, it’s just them. How it works: Colby mailed Jen a book that he thought she would like. She then reads and they both post about it on their blogs. When they finish Book One, they reverse roles and begin again.

Cool, right?

So of course I wanted to have a #bookbuddy of my own. So I sent out the following:

Within minutes, my friend Paul Hankins wrote me and said he’d be happy to be my #bookbuddy.

But then I panicked. How am I ever going to get books to Paul that he hasn’t yet read? Honestly! He seems to know about every title I have ever heard of and is able to recommend in a minute a hundred more that I would like if I enjoyed what I last read. He is one seriously well-read guy.

So I suggested sending him some grown-up books that he might enjoy and might be able to draw from to make some recommendations for his super-readers in his 11th grade classes. Thankfully, he agreed and my panic level dropped immensely because I know I can find books in that realm that he hasn’t had the joy of reading…YET.

So…can you keep a secret? I would hate for Paul to find out what should be on his doorstep in the very near future before he opens the package. (I am trusting that he won’t peek on this site either…)

I have this fascination with Richard Feynman.  I think I have read all of what he has written that is easily enjoyed by those who do not really understand physics. (That was the one class that I truly muddled through in college. I don’t know that I really understand it any better than at the beginning.) I managed to get my hands on the recent graphic novel about Feynman’s life and found myself revisiting all of his books and videos.

Which is why I have chosen to send this book to Paul:

This collection of shorter pieces – published articles, interviews, chapters from his books – should offer Paul a good introduction to Feynman’s incredible attitude towards learning. Life, science, math, everything – all of it is a puzzle for Feynman to consider solutions to. I’m thinking that his fondness for books and for writing will probably appeal to Paul as well.

I’m definitely

Leave a Reply

