Internal Conflict – NaNoWriMo Edition

So I have been writing up a storm over the last few weeks. Not necessarily online. And not necessarily anything that will add up to any one finished product over time.

But I have been writing.

And I have had this idea brewing for a novel for the last year or two.

I have written some. I have talked about it some. What I need to do is get off my butt and write it.

It will probably count as my cruddy first novel.

But you have to start somewhere, right?

Enter my Muse.

She’s been dropping hints about NaNoWriMo all over my Twitter feed, in my inbox, and even on Facebook.

If you don’t know what NaNoWriMo is, it’s short for National Novel Writing Month, an annual event in which you aim to write a 50,000 word rough draft of a novel in 30 days that happens to show up in November – the busiest time in my household all year.

Usually I just ignore it and it goes away while I plan birthday dinners and a birthday party and Thanksgiving and go enjoy NCTE wherever it happens to be.

Not this year.

I actually made it so far as to have the signup page on my computer.

And it’s been staring at me for days.

Taunting me.

But my brain keeps thinking…

THAT’S 1667 WORDS A DAY!!!

Then I think…

Quit being such a chicken.

And so I sit here.

Undecided.

I suppose I have a couple more days for my Muse to convince me to take the plunge.

Leave a Reply

