One Day at a Time

I’m a planner. A dreamy idealist planner.

I get excited about the big picture and look at ways that I can get there.

I make list after list and scribble notes in the margins of notebooks and church bulletins about what I can do with this idea or that.

Some of it ends up like a Pinterest board – just stacks of ideas saved for future reference.

Some of it leads to coffee-fueled hours on my computer making charts and calendars and more lists and all kinds of writing.

(It’s been a while since I have had one of those days…they usually happen over the summer. Oh how I miss summer…)

Sometimes I have to plan on a smaller scale though – just one day at a time.

I was thinking about this last night as I sat to put together my sub plans for today. It seemed like it would be such an easy thing to do after play practice – maybe a half hour and then we could get out the door and go get the dinner I promised my son. Except the half hour came and went and I realized that I had to pull together all sorts of stuff from all over my room to make it make sense for someone other than me to do what I had planned.

All of those wonderful ideas that were swirling around in my head as I wrote my plans last week and even as I typed them up in the classroom management system yesterday looked like a hopeless example of my dreamy idealist nature. No doubt that they would work in my classroom – I had done variations of the lessons before. But how to put all of it into words for someone else?

That lead to a handout (which I had to make) and then a printout of the questions they needed to consider for the assignment in another class. And then I had to make sure I had enough copies of this and organize that and anticipate what might end up being problems by leaving little highlighted notes about this and that.

My “half hour” turned into 2 1/2 hours.

This is why teachers drag themselves to school on the verge of death. It’s an awful lot of work to translate our thinking into meaningful plans that others can follow.

The kid got to pick where we got dinner.

 

Please click on the image to go to the Two Writing Teachers blog to see what others have written for their Slice of Life Challenge posts.

Please click on the image to go to the Two Writing Teachers blog to see what others have written for their Slice of Life posts.

 

7 thoughts on “One Day at a Time

  1. I always found getting ready for a sub was more work than being there. I was really annoyed when I came back the next day and the sub decided not to follow my plans. We do have some of them as I am sure you well know.

  2. Writing sub plans – it is sometimes more work than planning and teaching yourself. Celebrate your dreamy idealist nature. This gives you wings and takes the student learning higher than they imagine.

Leave a Reply

